Australian Government 2019/2020 Masters and Short Courses Scholarships

The Australia Awards – Africa is the cornerstone of the Australian Government’s development assistance program for Africa. It provides access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries. On their return to the workplace, Australia Awards Alumni are expected to contribute to the development of their home countries.

Award Type

  • Masters Scholarships: Australia Awards scholarships for Masters level degrees, undertaken in Australia.
  • Short Courses Award: Australia Awards scholarships for targeted short term professional courses that are undertaken in Australia and/or an African country.

Nigeria: Eligibility criteria – Masters Awards 2020

Priority areas

  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Environment
  • Extractives
  • Gender Studies
  • Health
  • Human Rights
  • Infrastructure
  • Public Policy (especially Infrastructure, Economic Policy, and Trade Policy)
  • Security

Coordinating authority

  • Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation of Nigeria

Target group

  • You are a national of Nigeria.
  • You are a professional working in the public sector, the private sector or a non-government organisation (civil society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You are a professional who wishes to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. A Masters of Business Administration is not permitted.
  • You have a clear vision of how the knowledge gained through the study of a Masters degree will be used to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender equality: Australia Awards targets equal participation by women and men.
  • Disability inclusion: Australia Awards aims to ensure that people with a disability are given a fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship.


  • You are at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of application.
  • You have at least three years’ work experience following graduation. This work experience must be in a role relevant to the proposed field of study and to the employment organisation type (public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience).
  • You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelor’s degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised institution of at least four years’ duration with at least a 2nd Class Pass.
  • Public sector candidates must comply with Government of Nigeria regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships.
  • Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) when they apply.
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree.
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award.
  • You must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships. Refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy handbook

Applications close 3 December 2018.

Click here to check eligibility and apply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *